Friday, January 30, 2015

Rogue Destabilization: “NATO to form command, control units in 6 east European nations”

Press TV | Jan 30, 2015

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization, NATO, has announced the biggest reinforcement of its forces since the end of the Cold War by forming command and control units in six Eastern European countries.

The new task force –made up of thousands of troops--will be based in Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Bulgaria and Romania. According to NATO chief Yens Stoltenberg, a small contingent of troops from Norway, Germany and the Netherlands will contribute to the formation of the force. The new NATO initiative is aimed at enhancing its ability to react quickly to any conflict in Europe and to deploy forces in a matter of days. Twenty-eight members of the Western alliance will discuss the details of the task force in their next meeting. Stoltenberg says the initiative is a response to what he describes as Russia’s actions in Ukraine. He also accused Moscow of becoming more assertive.

No comments:

Post a Comment